Home Office Makeover Tips

Alex Greenwood
3 min readAug 12, 2020

If you’re like me and are forced by circumstance to work from home, you’re probably feeling two things right about now:

  1. Blessed to have work during this challenging time.
  2. My home office needs help.
Pixabay

I’ve written before about the need to establish your home office, where I opined that “just like in the ‘real office,’ make it your own with an array of talismans that inspire you: photos of family, sports memorabilia, your favorite coffee cup, and the de rigueur jumbo-sized hand sanitizer.”

That was all well and good for the first five months. Today? Well, let’s just say nearly every day I resist the urge to repaint my office, located in a small extra bedroom. Why? Because if I repaint, then I will start tinkering with some other stuff that I know it could also use, like cool ceiling tiles to improve that abysmal popcorn ceiling. Now, that’s not a bad thing at all, but it adds up.

Wait a minute, let’s explore that. If I spend parts of my days thinking my home office needs freshening up, then that means I am not being efficient at working in my home office, right? So, it is logical that I should make improvements if only to be more productive. Brilliant.

Okay, here are some improvements I think every home office should invest in.

--

--

Alex Greenwood

PR Consultant, Speaker, Podcast Producer/Host, Editor, and Award-Winning Writer of the John Pilate Mystery Series. Accomplished belly laugher.