Greenwood’s Rules of Podcasting

Alex Greenwood
5 min readApr 15, 2023

I’ve hosted and produced podcasts since 2006, some pretty successful, some decidedly not, and I’ve learned a few “rules” for good podcasting that have served me well.

Photo by Jonathan Farber on Unsplash

I’ve previously covered how to be a good guest once you are booked on a show and tips on finding the best podcast for you or your clients. I am the host and producer of the Mysterious Goings On and PR After Hours podcasts and appear on a few more as a commentator or co-host.

Now, without further ado, in no particular order…the rules I live by as a podcaster.

1. Good sound is king—use the best mic you can. And please record somewhere quiet! Nothing makes me turn off a show faster than careless, crappy audio.

2. That said, don’t blow too much money on equipment right out of the gate. You may get three episodes in and HATE the grind of podcasting, and then you’re stuck with expensive gear you do not want or need.

3. Consistency is the coin of the realm. Post shows when you say you will.

4. Take a break. I do two seasons per year, usually recording in batches for a couple of months. I take summer off from recording and post “best of” shows or reruns. Then I start another season in the fall. Wash, rinse, repeat.

--

--

Alex Greenwood

PR Consultant, Speaker, Podcast Producer/Host, Editor, and Award-Winning Writer of the John Pilate Mystery Series. Accomplished belly laugher.