From 2011: Omaha Steaks: Should They Dump Trump?

Alex Greenwood
4 min readNov 21, 2020
Would you “steak” your reputation on this?

This is a post from my “vault”. It was originally posted on my company PR blog in 2011, and it brought in a lot of clicks. However, it was probably a little too political for that space, so I took it down.

I came across it recently, and think there’s some stuff here worth revisiting from the perspective of someone objecting to Trump five years or so away from his failed presidency. The links embedded may or may not work, but the gist is there. — Alex

I’ll admit it–an occasional viewing of Donald Trump’s The Celebrity Apprentice is a guilty pleasure. I guess I enjoy watching people make fools of themselves: performing silly tasks, arguing about perceived slights, petty machinations, the personification of ridiculousness that is Star Jones, etc.

However, it’s the bowing and scraping to “Mister” Trump that I find the most egregiously funny. I mean really–they’re kissing this ridiculous, gold-plated vulgarian’s um…ring? Sheesh. However, aside from my issues with whether the show’s in good taste, it’s “good television” if the ratings are to be believed. Good ratings mean a sure winner for advertising, right?

Well, maybe–but you have to wonder if the good folks at Omaha Steaks are regretting getting on the strange-haired, orange-skinned business tycoon’s bandwagon.

--

--

Alex Greenwood

PR Consultant, Speaker, Podcast Producer/Host, Editor, and Award-Winning Writer of the John Pilate Mystery Series. Accomplished belly laugher.